Recent Reads Wrap-Up!

There I go, not posting for a month again. I’m so unreliable for blogging. I hate myself for it ahah

I had a weird reading month in June, because I didn’t finish any books before the 27th and that was a book that I’ve been reading for 3 months!  That’s because I continued with The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss for the first 3 weeks, and didn’t finish it (yet).

Capture d’écran 2016-07-11 à 11.41.43

♥♥♥       The inconvenient Indian by Thomas King, read from March 8 to June 27,

I knew this was a history book but for some reason I thought it was going to have some kind of narrative. It’s really actually just a history book ahah. It was still enjoyable for the most part. However, this was way more political than I expected, hence why I had to take a break in the middle, and why I skipped a few pages near the end. I got the point without having to know all the dates and names. Still glad I read it.

♥♥♥♥       November 9 by Colleen Hoover, read on June 27 -28

Another great Colleen Hoover book, not my favorite of hers but still a solid read. 

♥♥♥          Ten Tiny Breaths by KA Tucker, read on June 29-30

First book by this author, I wasn’t a fan of the writing all the time and the main character wasn’t really likeable but it was okay, enough for me to read the next installment.

♥♥♥ 1/2   One Tiny Lie by KA Tucker, read on July 2-3

This isn’t a sequel, but a companion with the sister as the main character. I enjoyed this one a little more than the previous one. 

♥♥♥♥        Four Seconds to Lose by KA Tucker, read on July 4-5

Another companion, with a side character as a main, pretty interesting and you can see that the author was getting better at her craft with this one. A lot more meat around the bone, as they say.

(There is a 4th and final book in this companion series, it’s coming in the mail and the mail service is on strike so.. I’ll read it when I get it eheh)

♥♥♥♥       Working Stiff, Two years, 262 bodies, and the Making of a Medical Examiner, by Judy Melinek, read from July 6 to July 11,  (non fiction)

I’ve reacted emotionally to books a million times but a book has never made me physically ill before. I’m still surprised by it. I was commuting to work, reading a very detailed account of an autopsy she did and I dont know if it was just too early or I didnt sleep enough or what but my body reacted as if I was seeing the gruesome scene in person, I started feeling very faint and dizzy and I had to get out of the train to get some air to avoid passing out

Also, this book ends with a bang, with a recollection of her time in the Office of the Medical Examiner of New York while 9/11 happened and after. This book is gruesome all the way through, but this part was particularly sad. All in all, not for the faint of heart, I skipped more than a few description of body parts being dissected or rotting flesh of cadavers found at the bottom of the lake or decomposing in their appartment for over a week… still an interesting read, especially the parts where she’s trying to solve the death, determine the cause and the manner, and when she has to interact with families and police and investigators!

I’m curious how this compares to STIFF by Mary Roach, I might pick that one up eventually.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I read November 9 too this month and really enjoyed it, it was a 5 star for me but I find i’m a sucker for anything Colleen Hoover. My all time favourite will always be Ugly Love though! 🙂
    Working Stiff sounds really interesting, I don’t read many non-fiction but I really want to expand my reading habits. I don’t think I could read this one though, it would be a little too gruesome and sad for me especially with it featuring 9/11. I’ve had to get off the train before having read something that’s suddenly made me start feeling woozy and dizzy, it was such an odd feeling!
    I also seem to get weird if I watch anything like that, even Greys Anatomy. I binged so much of that during a week off work that I suddenly felt like I was having symptoms of Brain Tumours or which ever they were showing on the show! haha i’m weird aren’t i?

    1. It’s like when you see a spider or a few ants in your house and for the rest of the day you feel like stuff is creeping on you even though there is never anything. Watching diseases and health makes you develop temporary hypochondria ahah

      1. I actually saw a spider in my bed last night (I was terrified) and all night I felt like there was more crawling on me!

Comment on this!

