May Reading Wrap-up!

Capture d’écran 2016-05-30 à 20.36.49

Rating // Title & author // Dates // Format

♥♥♥♥♥    The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss // Reread from Apr 18 to May 5 // Paperback

I took my time to reread this gem that I originally experienced in 2013. I decided upon first reading it that it was my new favorite book. I’m glad to say that opinion is still valid. I did see a few flaw that I probably didn’t notice before, but it didn’t prevent me from giving it another 5 star rating. CLICK HERE for original review.

♥♥♥♥        Sweet Tooth vol. 1 by Jeff Lemire // Read on May 17 // Graphic novel

Nice first installment in this graphic novel series, interesting premise. I’m not in a mood for GN these days and I forced myself to read it because it was lent to me by a friend, but I did enjoy it nontheless and I might want to pick the next volume if I see it at the library!

♥♥♥♥     Me Before you by Jojo Moyes // Read from May 17 to May 21 // Audiobook & Hardcover

I listened to about 80 % of it on audio and read the last few chapters. I knew what was coming and didn’t want to leave the gutwrenching parts to the narrator to make me feel (although I enjoy audiobooks immensely and find them incredibly practical, I can never connect as much with a story or a character if someone else is reading it for me to experience).  CLICK HERE for full review. 

♥♥              Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins // Read from May 24 to May 29 // Short story collection

I didn’t enjoy this book because I only liked the last two stories! (out of 12!) I don’t know what it was, I was in the mood for cute love stories but they either ended up way to “teenager drama” ish for me or they were magical realism/horror while I wanted contemporary. Also the tropes in this. So cliché and unoriginal. I’m over it. CLICK HERE for full review. 

♥♥♥           Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur // Read on May 29 // Poetry

First poetry collection I EVER read because it’s usually really not for me. I enjoyed half of it, didn’t get the other half. It was okay, I’m glad I read it. CLICK HERE for full review.

I started a book that I’m in the middle of, called The Wild Truth . It’s a sort of spin off to Into the Wild by Jon Krauer – that inspired the movie (the amazing movie) directed by Sean Penn – written by Chris McCandless sister.  I want to make a full review on it and talk about my love for that movie next week end. 🙂

What have YOU read last month?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I loved Me before you, I can’t wait for the movie to come out as well I think the cast looks fantastic 🙂 I listened to my first Audio book last month and really enjoyed it but I agree with wanting to read the big reveals yourself. I used it for a re-read so I was really happy with the narration.

    1. I saw the movie yesterday.. it was beautiful! I laughed a bunch, and cried too.

  2. nannygrannie says:

    Very interesting reviews. We seem to have a lot in common when it comes to books…if you have a chance check out my page and maybe we can chat books!

    1. Thanks 🙂 And sure, I’ll check you blog out and follow.

Comment on this!

