Review – milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

23513349

‘milk and honey’ is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. ‘milk and honey’ takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look. 

The first part “the hurting” is sometimes addressed to her father and sometimes to her abuser, but it’s not clear to me if it’s the same person. Either way, the abuse may well be incest because an uncle is also mentionned. Not very pleasant start to this book =/

The second part “the loving” is very erotic. She’s basically talking about a man, a first love, maybe more than one it’s again not very clear (that’s poetry for ya), and all that love can do to your soul and your mind and your body. It’s also the part where I noticed there is absolutely no capital letters in this book, even if there is ponctuation. I wonder why.

The third part “the breaking” must be my favorite because that’s where I got my 3 favorite poems that I will include below. It’s mostly about heartbreak, loss and all that good stuff.

The last part “the healing” is what comes after all the hurt, finding yourself, loving yourself, accepting the imperfection, being a strong independant woman. This is where the author’s feminism shows the most.

A few favorites


Capture d’écran 2016-05-30 à 00.21.51

Capture d’écran 2016-05-30 à 00.22.34

Capture d’écran 2016-05-30 à 00.22.52

Capture d’écran 2016-05-30 à 00.22.55

Rupi Kaur is also an artist, you can check out her website if you’re interested by her photography projects at www.rupikaur.com 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Esther says:

    What did you think of the collection in general? Did you liked it? I loved it. As you say, it starts very heavy with a hard topic and I love that, because it showed the journey from ‘hurting’ to ‘healing’ quite well. I think that all the contemporary poetry I’ve read is without capitalized words, I think it’s to stripe words of “importance” and so the sentences flow together even though they have punctuation. I don’t know if that makes any sense hahah

    1. ahhh yes it makes a lot of sense, but I was a poetry virgin before that collection so I didn’t know it wasn’t unusual. I enjoyed it quite a bit. I’m opened to try more!

  2. Great Post! I am interested in reading some poetry and I keep looking at this book debating if I should get it or not. Are their any others you would suggest as well for future reference? 🙂

    1. Ohh you’re totally not asking that to the right person, I don’t thik I’ve read a poetry collection before. Ever. I have no recommendations to make on that front 😛

Comment on this!

