Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Review

Capture d’écran 2016-05-19 à 19.27.45

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

I’m very glad I listened/read this book before the movie came out, as I love both actors who play in it and I’m sure this is the type of story that will make a great film. I actually think the movie will be even better than the book, to be followed..

I will link my book to movie adaptation review soon as I see the movie which omes out in 2 weeks.

The story: 4.25/5. This is a nice story, a good book, well written, nicely balanced, heartbreaking. It’s funny at times, it’s sad, it’s uncomfortable, it’s thought proviking. It’s also a slow burn romance and I like these. I like a recalcitrant protagonist who warms up slowly, as I somehow recognize myself in them a little bit. Sometimes, only sometimes, Lou’s reaction or thoughts would annoy me, but nobody’s perfect. I liked Will, I understood his moods completely. I loved his sarcasm, even when it soured the situation. Even if it was predictable (I mean, really early on you know what Will wants to do and with everybody describing this book as a tearjerker, you already know how it’s going to end), it was still interesting to follow the progression, and to see Will opening up to her.

I do think that the impact would have been even greater if they warmed up to each other quicker. You can see it coming and you know it’s going to happen but the story goes on and you’re still waiting, and then she tells him she loves him 30 pages from the end, they don’t really live their love at all, which was a bummer.

I did appreciate the few chapters from other people’s POV, it didn’t break the pace or anything and it added some nice imput.
As a side note, I’d like to mention that I don’t plan on reading the sequel. I really don’t think it is necessary.

The narration: 3.5/5. I think the narrator did a good job, however I felt like she sounded a bit too old to realistically be 26 years old, and it also sounded as if she was dumbing her voice down, or babying it up, if that makes sense. I liked that there was a few other narrators for Will’s pov, the mother’s and Nathan’s (the nurse), even if they were short. I thought they made Nathan sound a little to severe but I get why. They probably wanted to emphasize that he was the one character with the least emotional involvement, and it worked.  I sometimes really struggle to enjoy a great book if it’s not narrated as I would read it myself, but this was not too bad and I enjoyed it anyway. However, I didn’t want to leave the ending for someone else to read, so I picked up the book for the last few chapters and actually read the book.

As for the movie, just with what we see in the trailer, it’s clear that they made their chemistry  appear a lot earlier in the story (I recognized a few scenes where they were clearly attracted to eachother all smiles and starry-eyes while in the book they were not there yet at all), but I think I might prefer that. The movie is going to wreck me for sure lol

GOODREADS

One Comment Add yours

Comment on this!

