Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

tag

TAG QUESTIONS 

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like. 

Matilda, by Roald Dahl. I loved the movie when I was young. But when I read the book, a few years ago, it infuriated me. This representation of adults mistreating kids like the incapable parents of Matilda, who don’t give a crap about her and leave her to her own devices most of the time, and her horrible school principal who bullies and insults the kids in the school in the most vile ways. I just didn’t get it. I think kids may find it funny but as an adult… nope.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

There was a lot of complaint about Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins. A lot of hate about Anna being annoying and whiny, Etienne being close to unfaithful to his then girlfriend, while I actually think the portrayal of REAL LIFE SITUATIONS was well made and heart-warming. I didn’t have any of these negative impressions while or after reading the book. I also loved the 2 sequels, but I think this one takes the cake as my favorite.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like. 

Well.. if, as an author, you’re putting your characters in a love triangle and doing a good job of it, I’ll probably agree with the outcome you choose. I must say, I was always team Jacob in Twilight, but I understand that it couldn’t have happened, Renesmee or no. Still, I was in a state after New Moon (the movie). ahah

Another one that I think you’ll probably have heard a thousand times, I prefer Jem to Will in The Internal Devices, so yeah. I don’t dislike Will though, but Jem. *Sigh*

And if we’re being meticulous in this list, I always thought that the pairing in Harry Potter was a little too easy. Ron and Hermione, okay, but Harry and Ginny? Come on. I have nothing against book Ginny (how they represented her in the movie, no comment), but it’s just so.. convenient. Also, I liked the courtship with R & H, but let’s be honest they do not match in the least. I can see the attraction lasting a few years, but a lifetime marriage? Hermione is worth better than a maybe loyal, but lazy husband. I don’t know, I like Ron, but I never *loved* him. Don’t shoot me! ahah

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for. 

Hmmm. Sci-fi. I have zero interest about anything happening in a futuristic /space setting. I adored The Martian by Andy Weir, but it was not really futuristic as Star Wars or Asimov’s foundation is, it’s part science, part drama, part sci-fi. Pure sci-fi isn’t my jam.

Another one that is overcrowding public libraries and best sellers’ list and that I don’t have any urge to read is thrillers/crime novels. My dad looooves them, Michael Connelly, James Patterson, Kathy Reichs… they sell so many books! Yet, I have no interest.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Severus Snape. I HATE HIM. By the end of the series, people usually consider him as a hero or whatever and it just pisses me off. No matter that he was loyal, I’m not denying that, he was still a horrible teacher. He was basically bullying and insulting his students, and being very unfair. Totally immature and despicable. Uh.
6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into. 

Ian McEwan. The name may not ring a bell right away but this man has written a lot of best selling novels. I’ve tried to read 2 and had to DNF or put back on the to-read list to try later. Atonement is one, and Enduring love another. Next time I try, if it doesn’t work I’ll just give up forever.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Thankfully, annoying tropes are especially present in YA and I haven’t read YA in a while. The trope that annoyed me the most was the typical ”ordinary plain jane girl” that ends up catching the attention of THE popular guy, or what could be called the Bella syndrome. I’m sorry, real life RARELY works that way.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Lord of the Rings by Tolkien. So many people talk about how the books are unnecessary lengthy, overly descriptive, and how the movies are better overall. I watched the movie, I loved them and I’d watch them again, but I don’t think I’ll ever read the books.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I have a few!

Brooklyn by Colm Toibin. Recently, I watched the movie and loved it so much I wanted more of the lovely story so I bought the book. I was disappointed. The movie wasn’t very exciting, more of a character study, but the book fell flat and it felt as if the novel didn’t have an ending. The movie’s much better.

Another one is Labor Day by Joyce Maynard. The movie is 10x better, the characters and their actions especially. Probably helped by excellent actors, but still.

Finally, Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer. This is one of my favorite movie, yet the book is nothing like it. It’s based off a real story but since the man died (not a spoiler, it’s written in the summary!) it doesn’t read like a story, and the author keeps talking in his own voice, adding personal comments. It’s annoying. This story is  much better with the visuals and the soundtrack.

If you did this tag on your blog, link it to me in the comments and I’ll check your answers out!

Audrey-Anne

4 Comments Add yours

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    Fantastic Tag! I love Anna and the French kiss. When I read the negative reviews after reading it, mainly people hating on the “cheating” I thought it was a non issue, it happens and I though Stephanie did a fantastic job with her reasoning’s and explanations. Books should be able to include it without the backlash. Not all love stories have to be perfect 🙂

    Also I’ll never read Lord of the rings, I tried, I failed. I found it to be really descriptive and couldn’t hold my attention. I just watched the movies instead. I would of loved to love the series as the cloth bound editions are beautiful but ah well.

    1. I don’t know if you read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover. It’s my favorite of her books, it’s just great! People have the same reaction to it though. First of all by reading the book you know the character is a good person anyway and second, IT’S LIFE, PEOPLE. What do you expect. I find it a lot more believable that way than when ” all the stars align ”, if you know what I mean. lol

      1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

        I haven’t read Maybe Someday YET it’s my next read from Coho. I’ve read November 9, Ugly love, and Too Late so far.
        I get you with the “all the stars align” I mean, sometimes I love a perfect romance but the imperfections is what makes the characters that much more relatable for me 🙂

  2. I adore Lord of the Rings, but I understand how a lot of people don’t. It was just such a large part of my childhood and it’s what lead to my love of fantasy and reading in general. I don’t think I’d be the person I am today if it weren’t for Lord of The Rings or The Hobbit.
    Good tag though 🙂
    I’m also kind of sick of the plain Jane thing.
    It’s like it’s trying too hard to be relatable to it’s target audience.

Comment on this!

