April Reading wrap-up

I’m incredibly late but here is what I read in April:

Capture d’écran 2016-05-16 à 12.57.00

Rating // Title & author // Dates // Format

♥♥            Injection by Warren Ellis // Read on April 3, graphic novel

The graphics are nice, I feel like I would like the premise if I’d understand what the F was going on. I’m not sure you can call this plot. The narrative is all over the place, and myself being a fan of flashbacks, I really felt like they failed their job to give me insight as to why things happened in the present. I literally have no clue.

♥♥♥        Outcast vol. 1 by Robert Kirkman // Read on April 3,  graphic novel

I gave it 3.5 because it was good, but myself not usually being into the “horror” genre, I wasn’t  really a fan of the demonic posession storyline.

♥♥♥♥     Outcast vol. 2 by Robert Kirkman // Read on April 4, graphic novel

Slightly better than the first volume, but I’m not drawn to continue on with further volumes.

♥♥♥♥      Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon // REREAD from Mar 21 to April 16,  paperback

Original review (sept 2014): Holy Christ every chance I had to read this book I did, and it took me 2 weeks to finish. A massive story, to be sure. I’m quite fascinated by it actually. Being densely historical and political, it shouldnt have engrossed me as it did, but I was just unable to stop, whether because I was too attached to Jamie and Claire or the general setting of 1740s Highlands (that I’ve never read about before), I can’t say. Gabaldon definitely knows how to tell a story.

Second read: I’m glad I read this again because a lot of details were long gone from my memory. I enjoyed it just as much, if not more than the first time. I’ve said it from the start, this series is going to be a multiple rereads for me.

♥♥♥♥♥   The Name of the Wind from Pat Rothfuss // REREAD from Apr 18 to May 5, paperback
Original review (October 25 to December 06 2013) : This book is hard to describe because it made me feel things rather than understand them, but by feeling them I could make sense of them. The trilogy is the story of a man, a legend of sorts, and how he came to his reputation, from the beginning to the present, told by himself to a Chronicler.
You know how books like in the Song of Ice and Fire series, for example, are so complex that you feel like you have to read them twice or more to grasp everthing, to detangle all the plots and subplots and POVs, but you don’t really want to because they’re so dense and hard to get through… well this book is as complex, as rich, but without the guaranteed headache. I enjoyed every line of it. The writing was spectacular, very well crafted. Every word is exactly where it needs to be.

Second read  : I loved this book just as much the second time. I did notice a lot of repetitive parts (for example Kvothe saying ”if you haven’t been that poor I don’t think you’d understand” at least 100 times, ok we get it you were poor), I think objectively the best rating for this would be more like a 4.5 or 4.75 but no half stars available and I’m definitely giving more than a 4 so I’m not changing my rating. 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m working my way through The Name of The Wind on audiobook at the moment, but I keep taking little breaks from it because it makes me so sad 😦
    Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving the story but just reading about everyone being so cruel to him when he was on the streets and starting the university just broke my heart.
    I’m hoping things get better from here on out haha.

    1. Let’s just say he has a knack for getting himself into less than desirable situations ahah but I agree that it’s most of the time out of his control. I’m currently reading the sequel (for the first time) and I’m also taking my time with it.

Comment on this!

