Book Review – Slammed by Colleen Hoover

13372690

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

You know, I see a pattern. The pattern is to read the synopsis for a Colleen Hoover’s book (Maybe Someday), think something like “I don’t understand why everybody raves about this book, looks like a sappy story full of clichés”, still pick it up because I’m only human, FREAKING ADORE IT, and swear to myself not to judge a book by its description again. Read another Colleen Hoover’s book synopsis (Ugly Love), think something like “well this one sure doesn’t sound like something I would like”, read it because after all, I loved the first one, ENJOY IT JUST AS MUCH, and swear to myself that I’ll read every Colleen Hoover’s book on this planet. Read a third book, and a fourth, and devour them. Get to the synopsis of Slammed, think something like “Slam poetry? Not only does the subject not interest me, but the way this synopsis depicts the 2 main characters screams at me to run away in the other direction”, read the book because of .. I don’t know why, and theeeen (have you guessed it?) be glad I did because it was AGAIN VERY MUCH AWESOME. Now that the pattern is officially established, you won’t hear me talk about these synopsises (what is the plural of synopsis??) again.

Now this is interesting. Because I always browse through reviews on Goodreads after I finish a book I like (because if I didn’t like it, I couldn’t care less if you did) but I’m always curious to see if my positive thoughts and opinions are shared, and if not, why. I have read a few negative reviews about this book, and I understand where they are coming from, and they mostly accuse Layken (the girl protagonist) to be immature, but strangely, and trust me when I say I am very sensitive to immature characters, I didn’t perceive her that way. She did have a few impulsive reactions that made me cringe for a second, but every time I considered her situation, it softened my reaction to the point where I totally got it.

There is two main highlights to this story in my opinion, the first being Will, of course, but not for the usual reasons in these kinds of novels. You usually fall for the pretty boy because he’s swoonworthy, always saying the right thing at the right time, having all these little attentions that, let’s be real, no real boyfriend could pull off. No, you fall for Will because he’s trying to do the right thing even if it’s not necessarily towards Lake, but also because he’s passionate, and not just about kissing. He’s passionate about slam, which I was honestly not familiar with before reading this book, of course I knew what it was but not being a fan of poetry to start with, I wasn’t really interested. Turns out, it’s a GREAT addition to the story, first because it’s always fun reading about characters with passions, also because you get to reads a bunch of them and man, are they packed with emotions. If you don’t know, slam poems have to be performed, and in order to engage your audience, you have to invest yourself into them, and how better to do that than writing about a subject that’s important to you.

The second highlight is the whole discussion about family, loss, grief, responsabilities, adulthood versus .. teenagehood I guess? All of this is at the center of Layken and Will’s story, and it makes the book that much more impactful and emotional. I’m not saying this is a masterpiece, I rarely think of romancey-type fiction as such, but it’s a brilliantly told story full of difficult truths, and thankfully, easier ones as well. As I said on Goodreads, I wonder if there will be a day when I won’t cry while reading a Colleen Hoover’s book.

GOODREADS PAGE *

Happy Reading 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelly Allan says:

    Colleen Hoover is my new favorite writer. Great review! I haven’t read this one yet. I just started UGLY LOVE. I’m stoked to get NEVER, NEVER going as well.

    1. I was a bit disappointed by Never Never but everybody seems to have loved it so maybe it’s just me! Other than that, all of Colleen Hoover’s books are amaziiiing 😀

Comment on this!

