Book Review – Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

maybe someday
At twenty-two years old, Sydney has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter’s cheating on her–and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by Ridge, her mysterious neighbor. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

This must be the most generic contemporary synopsis I’ve read in a while. Girl’s happy, boyfriend cheats on her with the best friend, meets a guy who borders on perfection, attraction ensues creating unexpected problems… I wasn’t really attracted to this one. But I saw so many positive reviews online saying that this book was truly great that I ended up downloading it on my ipad, not ready to pay 17$ for it but still curious.

Well well, I fell in love with Colleen Hoover’s books (after this one I read Ugly Love and Hopeless back to back) The reviews weren’t lying, what a wonderful love story, one who didn’t start to be one. I don’t want to say too much because one of the main reason why I loved this book is a particularity in one of the main characters that I didn’t expect at all and that was a very good surprise, and that made the story so much more interesting. So I don’t want to spoil it for you even though it’s not really a spoiler, better going in not knowing. The characters have depth to them and realistic reactions, relationships between main and minor characters build up as the story progresses, no insta love or anything. I loved Ridge and Sydney’s interactions, in friendship as in romance. It had a perfect balance between funny, sad, serious and intense moments. I highly recommend it.

5 STARS

GOODREADS PAGE

Comment on this!

