Top 14 of 2014

It was tough. I had to dig in my Goodreads list because I only had like 5 true favorites at the top of my head, but here are the 14 best reads of 2014, in no particular order:

Capture d’écran 2015-01-01 à 14.40.04

Books I enjoyed a lot that I had to include in the list:

City of Glass was probably the best of the Mortal Instrument series

City of Heavenly Fire was a solid conclusion and so anticipated that I read it in 2 days (and didn’t sleep much to achieve it)

A Little Something Different was a nice surprise and I loved the structure of it, very different and fun.

Doon was also a nice surprise, I didn’t except to love it as much as I did.

Forbidden was a tragic story, and it made me very sad for a while. But a book that gives me so many strong feelings cannot be excluded.

Ignite Me wasn’t a perfect ending to the trilogy and I can see it now with a bit of hindsight, but at the time I read it I was so enthralled in Juliette and Warner story, I think he must have been my biggest book brush since Jacob from Twilight xD.

The Infernal Devices mangas were a treat. I love that trilogy with all my heart and being able to see Tessa, Will and Jem’s story illustrated was very special.

The Scottish Prisoner was a companion book to the Outlander series and it was one of my favorite of them all. It was shorter, and very insightful as it was from Jamie’s perspective instead of Claire’s.

Mayde Someday is the first book I read from Colleen Hoover and I absolutely loved it. I find it’s becoming harder to find unique contemporaries as most stories have already been told, but the characters in this one were very relatable and loveable, and the plot is just great!

Now my Top 5 favorites

The Saga graphic novels. OMG I loved them. I read the first 3 back to back, raved about them to anybody who would listen, lent them to friends, all that jazz. I also reread them a few months after prior to rereading the 4th volume and loved them just as much. Everything about them is perfection. The story, the world, the details, the characters, the dialogue, the art. I want more.

Incarnate is the first in a trilogy. For most of the year, I thought it was my very favorite. Reading the sequel and not liking it as much damped my feelings a little bit but I still enjoyed every ounce of that beautiful story when I read it.

Anna and the French Kiss, yes I finally read it and yes I loved it just as much as everyone else. It’s my favorite of the 3 and I’ll reread it one day for sure, because it’s one of those feel-happy books.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. This is the kind of book that can make you cry and laugh out loud in the same chapter. It’s such a simple yet genuine story, beautifully written and carrying a very important message. I absolutely loved it.

Outlander, of course I had to mention it. I started watching the tv show in the fall, got very curious about it after 3 episodes, started the series and got totally engrossed in it. We’re talking about massive 800 pages hardcover here, but I read like 5 of them in a month. They are quite heavy on the historical and political side of things but so rich in details and the love story is simply unparalleled.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Leona says:

    These are in my TBR list too, I hope to read some of them in 2015!

    1. What were your personal favorites of 2014?

      1. Leona says:

        The Prince of Nothing trilogy by R. Scott. Bakker, and The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Comment on this!

