Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (novel & graphic novel) by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. This book took me a while to read. I started it on September 2nd, read about 100 pages and stopped. I did very much like the writing style and the main character, I just got sidetracked by other books (*cough* the Outlander series *cough*). I picked it up again as my last read of November! I also had the time to read the Graphic Novel before the end of the month.

Miss-Peregrines-Home-for-Peculiar-Children-m

Although I love Young Adult, one thing that tends to annoy me with YA books is the overload of angst and petty “teenager” issues. I did relate to that at one point in my life but at now 25, I’m over most of it. What I liked about this book right away is that even though Jacob, the main character, is 16 ( I think? ) he has a mature voice without it feeling unrealistic. He does react to things as a boy his age would, but in a mature way, if that makes sense. I also looooved Ransom Riggs writing. You know the overused line “I/she let out a breath I/she didn’t know I/she’d been holding” I JUST CAN’T ANYMORE. It’s been in every god damn book I’ve read in the last 3 months. Well, it wasn’t in this one. I don’t base my entire feeling of the writing on this but only use it as an example to tell you that I didn’t find any “tired” expressions or empty, meaningless sequence of words inserted to make the text pretty. Everything had a purpose, and I loved all the witty/dry humor/sarcastic feel to a lot of the characters’ verbal exchanges. Also, the fact that this story is very much unique and ornemented with creepy pictures just makes it even better. It is NOT a scary or even creepy read, although it does have its fair share of eccentric and unusual characters. I would describe it more or less supernatural with a twist. I give it 4 STARS, it was very good even though it didn’t blow me away.

GOODREADS PAGE

—-

The Graphic Novel illustrated by Cassandra Jean.

Not much to say about this. Cassandra Jean is an awesome illustrator (I love the art she made on all the Shadowhunter books by Cassandra Clare, most of it can be found on Tumblr), so I was glad to find her visual style matched with this story. I read this in maybe one hour and a half right after finishing the actual novel, so the story was very fresh in my mind. One thing I can say is even though I didn’t feel like rereading the book right away, it wasn’t a boring experience. The illustrations always bring something new to a story and help you visualize some stuff that you maybe didn’t quite grasped the first time. I also loved the color treatment in this. The beginning was all black and white, then once Jacob passed through the loop we started to see colors, and the pictures shown in the book all interwoven with the illustration was nice too. However, I feel like some stories are better suited for graphic novel length and style, and this one not so much. There is a lot of action sequences and information revealed as the story progresses that are hinted in tidbits in previous chapters in the novel, and I can easily see how the lack of explanations in graphic novels could ruin this story for someone who would read this without reading the book. Much of the carefully detailed plotline would escape the general understanding of the book. Or I think it’d be more accurate to say that the understanding of the story would be diminished by the lack of explanations or a lot of key points. Anyway you get the jist. Still enjoyed it but I would only recommend it if you read the book first and loved it!

3.5 STARS

GOODREADS PAGE

Here are some pictures of the illustrations, no copyright intented etc etc

collage

excerpt 111 MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - The Graphic NovelHappy Reading !

Comment on this!

