Book Review – Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

SORRY AGAIN FOR BEING M.I.A. SO MUCH!!! I’m slowly getting back into writing reviews.

My last read was Doon by Carey Corps & Lorie Langdon and I loved it!

17745703

I’ll admit, I first heard of this book on Youtube and thought it seemed very bad, very cliché. However, after reading a few Outlander books (by Diana Gabaldon) in the last months, I started a *kind of* obsession with Scotland, or at least books with some historical background or time travel elements. This book has it all! But the story itself is a retelling, nothing groundbreaking there. The strenghts of this book were the characters and the writing.

The characters: You know when in some books, half the characters get on your nerves? Or when there’s supposedly 2 main characters but 1 is obviously more important or more interesting than the other? Well I found myself liking every characters for what they were and thought they were all fulfilling their roles perfectly. This book as a dual perspective (each chapter is either told from Veronica or Mackenna’s point of view), and Veronica has a much higher number of pages than her best friend but we still find ourselves liking the 2 girls equally. They each have a distinctive voice and the fact that they’re very different makes it interesting. I also love that most of the main characters had a sass to them. I like characters with a sharp tongue and a good sense of humor.

The writing: fluid, not repetitive, a bunch of pop culture reference that I liked! A good plot line with a bit of romance (or maybe more than a bit), a bit of adventure, a bit of mystery, and a bit of magic! Magical kingdoms and witch curses are not my usual cup of tea at all, but I’m glad I gave it a shot! I’m already reading and enjoying the sequel as much.

This is the kind of story you either love or hate, and I loved it. I rated it 4.5 STARS and I would recommend it 🙂

GOODREADS PAGE

Happy Reading! 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jasmine says:

    Wow! Beautiful cover. Your review sounds awesome. Can’t wait to read it 🙂

Comment on this!

