Book Review – Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

isla-and-the-happily-ever-afterFrom the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

 Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

 

I only recently read Anna and Lola, in anticipation of the last book in this companion series by Stephanie Perkins. They were amazing! I gave Anna 5 stars and Lola 4 stars, you can get to the individual reviews through the links at the end of this one. Like you would know from my earlier reviews, I adored the story and characters in Anna, but was somewhat disappointed by Lola and Cricket. Well, Isla and Josh were up there with Anna and Étienne. Although I have to say that after 3 books of similar over-cute love stories, I started to see a pattern and I do believe that as much as I loved them, 3 was enough. It’s almost annoying how happy they all end up being (not really, but you know, I’m getting envious over here, where is my Étienne? Where is my Josh?)

Anyway, I loved that Josh was an artist and I loved his “special project”. I loved that Isla didn’t know what to do with her life because it made her even more “real” and relatable. As I said before, I really enjoy when book characters have a passion that they want to pursue their whole life and that define them, I admire that, but as someone who is still figuring out what I want to do at 24, I can appreciate that same characteristic in a character. I also really appreciated seeing previous characters all come together in the last part, but I won’t say more to avoid spoilers.

Stephanie Perkins’ books are great at making readers happy and hopeful. I give this one a well-deserved 5 stars and I know that no matter what her next book will be about, I’ll read it!

GOODREADS PAGE

BUY ON BOOK DEPOSITORY (free Int. shipping)

Happy Reading 🙂

2fe1cf29b3cb86c8bf9ed0322437bc15

One Comment Add yours

  1. therealrene says:

    Follow my book reviews please? I review rock and roll autobiographies.

    therealrene.wordpress.com

Comment on this!

