Book to Movie Adaptation Review: The Spectacular Now

148399

Release date: August 2nd 2013

Director: James Ponsoldt

Starring: Miles Teller, Shailene Woodley, Brie Larson

The trailer

I can say that I enjoyed the movie. It wasn’t better than the book though, and for one good reason. First of all, the only movies that I find better than books are the ones who “add” something to the story, like The Notebook or Labor Day, for example. But most of them can’t possibly fit all the scenes we love into a 90 minutes movie and we always end up disappointed. But the changes didn’t really bother me and they didn’t take anything from the story in this case. The one thing that movies can rarely do is get inside the characters heads, like you can in a book with first person POV. That way, a lot of the main character actions or reactions aren’t explained enough, you kind of have to understand them on your own. That’s what happened with Sutter in the movie. Having read the book just before, I understood a lot of things that I’m sure non-reader wouldn’t. We didn’t see enough of Sutter’s inner thoughts and that’s a shame because that’s what made him special and unique. The one thing that the movie added was a scene at the end that wasn’t in the book, and it was a great addition in my opinion (it didn’t change anything, just added a little bonus).  But can I say how I love Miles Teller? He was the PERFECT actor to play this role. Amy, on the other end, isn’t described as particularly good looking in the book. Shailene is too pretty in my opinion, but she still did a good job portraying her character’s quirks. Not a bad adaptation, but not great either because of all the stuff that was missing. I would give the movie on its own a 7.5/10, and the adaptation a 6.5/10.

Click here to see my book review of The Spectacular Now

Click here to see the movie’s IMDB page

2 Comments Add yours

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Never read the book, but I have to say, the movie really did a number on me that I wouldn’t mind eventually reading it. Or maybe even certain pieces from the author in general. Good review.

    1. Thanks! If you liked the movie, I think you’ll definitely enjoy the book.

Comment on this!

