Book Review – The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

the geography of you and me

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

WHAT I LOVED:

-Owen’s personality, who seemed like a calm, introverted and thoughtful person, which I can relate to.

-When characters have quirky or specific hobbies or passions, like Owen with astronomy. It makes him stand out.

-Assuming that Lucy is snob and selfish after discovering that she’s a rich New York kid and then realizing how wrong we were and that she’s actually sweet, simple, down to earth and nerdy, which I again can relate to. (I actually always love when I see a little bit of myself in the characters because I can understand them better.)

-I loved when Owen brought Lucy on the roof for an evening under the stars only a few hours after they met, and that it wasn’t for any romantic purpose at all.

-I loved to see the evolution of the relationship between the 2 main characters and their parents. I love how they all start as somewhat distant and as the story progresses, we get to see another side of them, and all of the family dynamics.

The only negative thing I could say is that it didn’t get me giddy with excitement like I love my contemporaries to do when they involve romance, and I found it just a tad slow. I would still consider this a good read and recommend it if you loved Jennifer E. Smith other 2 novels.

3.5 STARS

GOODREADS PAGE

BUY ON THE BOOKDEPOSITORY 

Happy Reading 🙂

 

Comment on this!

