Book Review – Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Hardcover, 310 pages
Published July 8th 2014 by St. Martin’s Press
 Capture d’écran 2014-07-28 à 12.37.30
Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now. Maybe that was always besides the point.
Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.
When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . . Is that what she’s supposed to do? Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?
You know how sometimes, the hype surrounding a book is so overwhelming that you end up disappointed. Well in this case the book wasn’t out yet, but so many of us had been excited for a long time to get our hands on this book, that I think I set my expectations too high.
It was a good book, no doubts. I just didn’t think it was great (which is something that I came to expect from Rainbow Rowell’s books). The writing was great, as usual, but I think my main problem with the book was that I couldn’t relate at all with the main character because I’m not married and I don’t have kids, and the whole plot revolves around the how/why/when/who marriage issues. That being said, I felt kind of a distance there since I couldn’t put myself in her shoes and REALLY understand. However, I’ve seen 5 stars ratings from people younger than me so I don’t think it’s a big problem for most people.
I liked the idea of the “magic” phone. I wasn’t expecting her past husband to be able to call her house though, I thought only she could reach him FROM the phone. It complicated things, but you know, life is complicated. I think this novel really represented well how even if we know that relationships need work, it’s always more complicated than 1. identify the issue 2. discuss the issue 3. come to an agreement. The two main characters were married for 18 years I think, they loved each other all these years, but they’ve always been deeply different. They wanted a totally different lifestyle, and one of the two made the decision to sacrifice his dreams to be with the other. It’s a story about making choices and dealing with their consequences. I loved its simplicity.
BUY IT ON BOOK DEPOSITORY (and get free international shipping)

3.5 stars

Happy reading! 🙂
Comment on this!

