Top 5 – Book Boyfriends

Who doesn’t love to daydream about his favorite book character?

keep-calm-and-find-your-next-book-boyfriend-4

 

Here are my personal top 5 book boyfriends, in no particular order.

5- DASH from Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

This book was cute. And it takes place around Christmas, the same period I read it in. The whole story revolves around Dash & Lily’s correspondance through a notebook, and when they meet, things doesn’t exactly goes the way they expected. It’s a really realistic story, even though it’s not exactly a romance. Dash is still one of my favorite book boyfriend because I loved his personality, his wit and his sarcasm.

4- LEVI from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

No surprise here, does anyone not love Levi? Fangirl was first of all one of my favorite reads of 2013. I really saw a lot of myself in the main character Cath and therefore I identified with a lot of feelings she had throughout the story. Her evolving relation with Levi was somewhat predictable, but it never bothered me because it was so well done. Nothing happened over night (classic insta-romance stuff that we don’t want) and it was a pleasure to see them get to know eachother and find a level of comfort. Levi is such a sweet guy I had to include him!

3- DANIEL from My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares

Here is one I know not many of you will be familiar with. My Name is Memory is one of my favorite books of all time and it’s kind of about time travel but not really. A brief synopsis is that Daniel can remembers his past lifes, meaning that every time one of his life is over and he kind of wakes up in a new one, he remembers his one true love from his first life, Sophia. But she doesn’t remember him, since he’s the only one (or so we think) with the ability to remember his past lifes etc. The book is just about him trying to find her and makes her remember him in each new life and obviously at some point there’s a twist. Now I realized I’m making a review of this book rather than about Daniel but the reason he’s in this list is because we get to see him try to find her through many different time period and you really get the sense he’s never going to get over her and I’ve rarely came accross a book that described true love as well as this one!

2- WARNER from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

I can’t explain why but I had the worse book hangover after finishing Ignite Me, the last book in the Shatter Me trilogy. Warner did such an impression on me, I couldn’t get over it! He’s the typical «bad guy who’s actually not bad at all» the more you progress in the story. A bit like Will Herondale in The Infernal Devices. But he’s very mean and cold in the first book, like you literaly almost hate him. And I think that’s why the shift is so big when you realized how good he actually is. You feel all sorts of pity and affection for him. Oh and the fact that he’s described to be handsome in all shape or form does help. And for all of you who read Ignite Me, you’ll know what I’m talking about when I mention THE scene that made me giggle and swoon and stare at the page with rounded eyes. That scene did it for me.

1- JEM from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Ah, Jem. Most readers of The Infernal Devices are «team Will», and I can totally understand since I myself have a soft spot for him, who wouldnt? But I loved Jem from the beginning and I just couldn’t toss him aside when we learn… certain things that may change our perspective on Will. I’m trying to stay vague not to spoil anything but I feel like Will’s plot line is pretty much known by the all the Internet at this point. Anyway, Jem. The white/silver hair, really thin frame and sickly look isn’t appealing in itself, but his person, his heart, they were described in such a way that you couldn’t help but loving him. I’m so happy we got to see a bit of him in COHF. And he’s one of the most unrealistic book boyfriend ever because, seriously, have you ever met someone so good, kind, nice, smart, generous… I can’t say I did. But that’s what so nice about books, everything is possible.

Comment and let me know you favorite book boyfriends!

Happy Reading!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahh, it’s so hard for me to be like “Nooooo, not Jem, Will!” Even though that’s what I’m feeling, because Jem is just such a good guy. He’s sweet, he’s smart, he’s passionate. Urgh. Often times, I want to polarize myself, picking one guy over the next with no room to mitigate, but Cassandra Clare does a great job in making sure that even those who like Will can never despise Jem.

Comment on this!

