Book Review – The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices (and more ) by Cassandra Clare

shadow-hunters-look-better-in-black Here is a list of all publishing years to help you better understand the chronology of things.

The Mortal Instruments (New York in 2007)

2007 – City of Bones

2008 – City of Ashes

2009 – City of Glass

2011 – City of Fallen Angels

2012 – City of Lost Souls

2014 – City of Heavenly Fire

The Infernal Devices (London in 1878)

2010- Clockwork Angel

2011 – Clockwork Prince

2013 – Clockwork Princess

The Dark Artifices (Los Angeles in 2012)

2015 –Lady Midnight

TBD – Prince of Shadows

TBD – Queen of Air & Darkness

The Last Hours (London in 1903)

2017 – Chain of Thorns

TBD – Chain of Gold

TBD – Chain of Iron

The Wicked Powers (2015)

TBD altogether

***

Ahhh, Cassie Clare has created herself a legacy here… she’s done something if not unique, quite uncommon in recent years: many series interwoven together. She started The Mortal Instruments (TMI), which she intended to be a trilogy set in modern NY. After the first 3 were published, she started The Infernal Devices (TID), another trilogy set in Victorian London. While TID stayed a trilogy, TMI grew to be a 6 book series. The release dates of the last 3 TMI books alternated with TID books, as you can see in the list above. The Dark Artifices (TDA) and The Last Hours (TLH), her next two trilogies, are already planned for release in the coming years. TDA is going to take place 5 years after the end of TMI in Los Angeles, and TLH in London some 15-20 years after the end of TID. Finally, set a few years after TDA, a final series, for now called The Wicked Powers, is set to conclude her Shadowhunters chronicles, but has not been sold to any publishers yet.

Here is my brief review, since I cannot go into details about sequels without spoiling anything (and these books right here have A LOT of spoilery material, trust me). By now, I feel I’m late to the party since pretty much everybody has heard of them. But this blog is new and I must write something about them anyway.

I first started with TID audiobooks right after Clockwork Princess was published and got a lot of hype. I was curious, but not enough to commit and buy all the books. I subscribed to audible.com and downloaded them for a fair price. I wasn’t engrossed as I thought I was going to be. I still gave TMI a try after that when I heard it was turned into a movie. I read them and really liked the complexity of the world and characters/details from TID popping up. I then reread TDI in book form and I much preferred them that way. I’m not saying the audiobooks were bad, but I think it’s not my cup of tea. I like reading at my pacing and not having some actor interpret it for me.

Like I said, all of her characters destinies are intertwined. Some of TID’s are ancestors of some in TMI. And TDA’s characters were introduced in COHF. All in all, it’s very interesting to discover what links them together and how it all affects the bigger picture. It’s also great to go into a book knowing that you have a lot to look forward too, never a dull moment. All of her novels are packed with action, but her characters are well developped nonetheless. (In some instances, well developped characters mean pages upon pages of flat description) but in Cassandra Clare’s books, you get to know the people through their actions and reactions to various situations.

I mostly gave them 4 stars. Why not 5? Well even if I find them really enjoyable and well thought out, they’re not perfect. Some of the reactions of her characters are predictable, some lines overused, but rarely do I gave 5 stars anyway.

On a last note, Cassandra Clare is really active on her BLOG, mostly for posting picture of fanart or official illustration from Cassandra Jean, and also answering fan questions about her books. I suggest you go check it out.

**Follow the link to purchase any of Cassandra Clare’s book on The Book Depository with free international shipping! 

* The image was taken from www.tmisource.com

Comment on this!

