Discussion – My First BEA Experience

Book Expo America official web site

BookCon official web site

***

I went to the open to public day, called Bookcon this year, on May 31st, at the Jarvits Center in NY. There were clearly unprepared for the amount of people who showed up (13 000 ish) en addition to the BEA attendees that were already registered. I could list a lot of disappointments but I want this blog post to be a positive one, so I’ll focus on the fact that despite the fact that I couldnt get to as many signings and panels that I wanted, I enjoyed my day enough to go back next year. As I understand it, blog reviewers can register as “professionals” and have access to BEA, so that’s why I intend to do next year.

Meeting authors, having them describe their own book to you, was priceless. Also, I really enjoyed the panels, or should I say, the idea of them because I could only attend one (too many people). I wish to attend more next year. The coat check service for luggage to put your books in was a great idea, and a necessary one. The lines were also a good opportunity to speak with the other attendees. I came from out of the country myself, so it was nice asking people around where they traveled from and which author/book they were most excited about. I unfortunately couldnt get to any autographing session at the big table, I would have liked to see Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, but there were thousands of people for them while I think there were only a few hundreds books to sign, if not less.

I still managed to meet the author and get autographed copies of 3 books: (the links will get you to their Goodreads page)

The almost girl by Amalie Howard

The daughter of chaos by Jen McConnel

The geek’s guide to dating by Eric Smith

Now for the books I managed to grab unsigned:

Everything I never told you by Celeste Ng

Panic in a suitcase by Yelena Akhtiorskaya

King Dork approximately by Frank Portman (That is a sequel to King Dork)

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld (Probably the book I’m most excited to read)

The Untold by Courtney Collins (The original australian title is The Burial)

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

When the cypress whispers by Yvette Manessis Corporon

Winter street by Elin Hilderbrand

The matchmaker by Elin Hilderbrand

Organic by Peter Laufer (non-fiction about organic foods)

If you want to request a review for one of those books, please leave a comment!

All in all, the experience was a bit overwhelming and carried a few disappointments, but I’m still glad I went. I’ll make sure to visit BEA for the whole 3 days next year.

 

Have you gone to Bookcon/Bea in 2014? Did you go to Power Reader day last year? How was your experience and what books did you get?

Comment on this!

